Going to the Doctor…

(From the song “Jesus, Friend of Sinners”)

REVIEW: Jesus loves all, not just the popular people.

Jesus answered them, ‘It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.’”

Luke 5:31-32 NIV

When I was a kid, it was common to get strep throat. I’d get it about once a year, and I’d always dread it. The reason it was so bad was because to treat it, I’d have to go to the doctor and get not one, but two shots to cure it. Those shots were the greatest pain I’d ever experienced as a little kid. And I had to get them right in the back pockets!

The first sign of having strep is usually a sore throat. If you don’t get the shots, you’ll soon get a fever and feel horrible.

As a kid, if my throat started to feel sore, I’d usually keep it a secret. I didn’t want to risk getting those two shots! If I felt a little feverish, I’d still keep it a secret. I knew I was getting sick, but I didn’t want to go to the doctor, even though I knew they could help me. I pretended to be healthy even though I wasn’t.

That’s how we can be with Jesus. We know in our hearts we need him, but we put it off. We know he can help us, but we want to ignore our need for him.

All of us sin, but not everyone will admit it. For some people, confessing our sin is as hard as getting two shots! When we refuse to admit sin, it’s called being proud. We know we do wrong, but we try to ignore it like I ignored my sore throat. The doctor can’t help me until I admit I’m sick and ask for help. Jesus can’t help us until we admit we’re sinners and need him.

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS:

Do you ever pretend you’re healthy because you don’t want to go to the doctor?

Who do you think were the “healthy” people and the “sick” people in the story, the Pharisees or the tax collectors and other sinners?

PRAY: “Lord, help us to understand that we need Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

