Randy Needed a Friend…

Chapter 4 photo(From the song “Romans Road”)

REVIEW: Jesus came not to condemn, but to save us. Review what “condemn” means and how Jesus didn’t come to condemn us.

“…for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God…”

Romans 3:23 NIV

When I was a kid, there was a guy in my class named Randy. He was a nice guy, but kind of shy. He wore glasses and wasn’t good at sports. All the kids wore jeans, but Randy always wore dress slacks. He stuck out in a bad way. As a result, poor Randy wasn’t popular and a lot of the kids would tease him or worse. Some were so mean they would throw pebbles at him as we all walked home from school. I never teased or threw anything at Randy, but I never stood up for him, either. In my silence, I was afraid if I stuck up for Randy the guys would tease me. Randy needed a friend, and I didn’t help him. I was afraid.

Remembering this still makes me feel bad.

No matter how hard we try, we all sin. We all hurt others, either with our words or our actions. Sometimes we hurt people by what we don’t do, like in my story. The good news is, Jesus can help. When we believe in Jesus, all of our sins are taken away. They’re not counted against us anymore. We’re forgiven. God’s Holy Spirit also helps us to be more kind and loving towards others.

PARENTS: Recall a story from your childhood when you made someone else feel bad. Also, share a story when someone made you feel bad. Give your kids opportunity to share their stories.

PRAYER: “Lord, even though we all hurt other people, you have given us help for our sin, and that’s Jesus Christ. Thank you for sending your Son.”

Leave a Reply

