The Bunt…

(From the song “New Creation”)

REVIEW: “Hallelujah” is a word we yell out to express joy for Jesus taking away our sin. Try it! One…Two…Three!

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!”

2 Corinthians 5:17 NIV

As a kid, when I played little league baseball I was one of the worst players on my team. My stomach would ache as I dreaded upcoming games. I was afraid that if I missed a ground ball or struck out, the whole team would be mad. My mom always made me go, even though I would beg her to let me stay home.

One game turned out very different, though. It was the last inning, with the score tied. We had one man on second base, and my whole team groaned when they realized I was up to bat. I had already struck out twice, and they expected a third.

The first pitch was outside for a ball. Three more “balls” and I would walk to first base. Whew. I loved getting “walked.”

When the next pitch came, it was right down the middle. I knew I had to hit it, so I did something no one expected.

I bunted.

If you’re not familiar with baseball, a bunt is when you hold out the bat and tap the ball. I did it because it was the only way I knew I could hit the ball. The ball rolled towards third base as the other team froze in surprise. I ran as fast as I could, as the ball slowed to a stop. The pitcher scooped it up and flung it towards first.

The ball hit the first baseman’s glove with a smack, and I heard the umpire yell “out.”

And then I heard something unexpected. I heard my team cheering.

Rounding third base, the runner was now charging towards home plate. The first baseman whipped the ball into the dirt and the catcher missed it. The run scored.

We won the game.

My whole team was around me, patting my back and congratulating me as I stood frozen. One kid who was often mean shook my hand and said, “That took a real man to bunt!”

Everything was different. I no longer felt like the worst player. For the first time in my life, I felt like a hero.

I felt like a new person. A brand new person.

When we trust Jesus, something very exciting happens. Even more exciting than winning a baseball game. We become brand new. We become different people. His Holy Spirit comes into our hearts. We are adopted into his family. Our sin is forgiven. The old “us” is gone. The “new” has arrived. We are saved and have eternal life.

That’s why the Bible says we are new creations. We have a brand new life!

PARENTS: Can you share a story of someone you know (or yourself) what has been wonderfully changed by the love of Christ?

PRAY: “Thank you Lord that when we trust you we become brand new.”

Leave a Reply

