The Dirt Hill…

(From the song “New Creation”)

REVIEW: By believing in Jesus, we are reconciled. “Reconciled” means our debt is paid and everything is good and settled.

“God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.”

2 Corinthians 5:21 NIV

When I was a kid, we had a hill on the side of our house that had no grass. Instead, it was all dirt. The shade from the house and surrounding trees and bushes made it difficult to grow grass.

As kids, we loved our dirt hill.

We would bring trucks, buckets, and green army men out there and work on imaginary construction projects. Adding water to the dirt, we’d make roads and fences, walls and forts. We loved it.

My mom didn’t love it as much.

Why? Well, after a day on our dirt hill, I would be an absolute mess. My clothes, my hair, my hands and face all covered with dirt. My mom would run a bath for me and take my pile of filthy clothes. She’d lay out clean pajamas for me, and all the dirt would be washed away. I’d be clean.

That’s like what Jesus does for us. Our sin is like dirt and mud. It covers us. We’re filthy. We need washing, and we need clean clothes. When we believe in Jesus, our sin is washed clean.

PARENTS: Recall a time when your child was especially dirty. Maybe after camping or playing in sports? Recall how you helped them get cleaned up.

PRAY: “Thank you Lord for your Son, Jesus, who took away the “dirt” of our sin by going to the cross.”

Leave a Reply

