The Earpiece…

(From the song “New Creation”)

REVIEW: When we believe in Jesus, we become brand new.

“All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation”

2 Corinthians 5:18 NIV

What does “reconcile” mean?

When I was a kid, we didn’t have iPods or iPhones. We had transistor radios, though. I had a small red radio I loved listening to. Sometimes I wanted to listen with no one else hearing, so I decided to buy an earpiece. An earpiece was like earbuds today, only there was just one of them for one ear, instead of two for two ears like they are now. Putting a few coins in my pocket, I biked up to a radio store that sold earpieces. It was about two miles from my house. I got to the store and smiled when I saw they had it in stock. It even came with a small black case that snapped shut. “I’ll take it!” I said to the man at the counter. He rang it up, but when I saw the cost my heart sank.

I didn’t have enough money.

I counted out my change on the counter, but I was short. Sighing, I scooped up my coins, apologized, and walked out of the store with no earpiece. Then something unexpected happened.

“Hey,” the salesman called. I turned around.

“Here, you can have it. Free.”

“Really?” I asked, frozen in my steps.

“Sure, no problem.”

And so I biked home with my new earpiece. I paid nothing for it, but it was mine. It was a gift. I didn’t owe him anything. We were reconciled.

All of us sin and fall short of God’s perfect standard. And the result (or “wages”) of falling short is death. But when we believe in Jesus something wonderful happens. We become reconciled. We don’t owe God anything for our sin. Our relationship with him is good. Jesus paid it all on the cross for us. Jesus pays for us, just like that salesman paid the cost for my new earpiece.

KIDS: Can you think of a time when someone paid for something you received? Aren’t you glad you don’t still owe money for those things, but instead everything is settled (or “reconciled”)?

PRAY: “Lord thank you that by believing in Jesus, we are reconciled.”chapter-11-photo.jpg

Leave a Reply

