The Purple Bike Seat…

(From the song “I Am the Resurrection”)

REVIEW: When we’re in trouble, or sad, or mad we should always pray to Jesus.

“Jesus said to her, ‘I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die; and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?’”

John 11:25-26 NIV

When I was a kid, I saved up my money and bought a purple seat for my bike. I wasn’t good with tools, but after much work I got the old seat off my bike. When I put the new seat on, it didn’t seem to fit. It was too loose, and I couldn’t get the bolt tightened to hold it in place. I got so frustrated I took gray duct tape and taped the seat on the stem. It wasn’t tight, but it looked like it might work. I got on my new purple bike seat and went for a test ride.

It didn’t work.

The new seat, held on by duct tape, was wobbly. I knew I had to stop riding or the whole thing would fall apart. I was mad and on the verge of tears. After all the money I spent on the new purple seat, it didn’t look like it would work. I couldn’t fix it.

But someone else could.

That evening, I showed my bike to my dad. I showed him how the duct tape didn’t work. I asked him for help. And he knew what to do. He peeled off the sticky gray tape, and got the correct screws and bolts to secure my new seat. Now it was rock solid. I could ride it. My bike had new life and a new purple seat. I also learned a lesson.

My dad could do things I couldn’t do.

It’s the same with Jesus. Martha and Mary were very sad because their brother Lazarus had died. There was nothing they could do to fix this situation. Nobody can fix death. But Jesus can do what no one else can. Jesus can “fix” even death, because he’s God! That’s why he told Martha, “I am the resurrection.”

What is “resurrection?”

Resurrection means coming back to life after death. It’s interesting that Jesus didn’t say, “I can do a resurrection.” Instead, he said, “I am the resurrection.” That means resurrection isn’t just something Jesus can do, but it’s who he is.

KIDS: Can you remember a time your parents did something for you that you couldn’t do?

PARENTS: Do you have a family member who has passed away that you look forward to seeing in Heaven? If so, share with you kids. Share a favorite memory of your loved one.

PRAY: “Thank you, Lord, that Jesus is the resurrection. Jesus is the one who can ‘fix’ death.”chapter-20-photo.jpg

Leave a Reply

